My Fantasy Writing Studio is in Narnia

Assignment: “Describe your fantasy writing studio.”

My fantasy writing studio is in Narnia. The door would be a wardrobe, and it would still be winter all the time. (The fact that Christmas never comes saves me money too.) You may think I say this because of the many mythical creatures that live there, but you would be wrong. You may think I would place my writing studio in Mr. Tumnus’ rented cottage because of the incredible legends in the place, but you would still be wrong.

Perhaps I could clarify things by describing my current writing “studio.” It is a big, brown recliner in the center of our living room. My computer cord is twelve feet long, and it is ten feet to the power outlet. I step around toys my kids have forgotten and place my coffee cup on the two foot by three foot computer “desk” to my left. I put my feet up on the foot rest and begin.

This is my personal haven with no sound except the fan in my laptop every Saturday and Sunday from five a.m. until about eight when the kids wake up. Then I have to lower the footrest so the baby doesn’t crawl under the chair and scoot to the center of the chair so my twins can sit on the arms and chatter into ear about princesses, Halloween, and whether we should go shopping or to the doctor today.

My fantasy studio is in Narnia because when you enter this mythical land, time stops. I could spend as long as I want writing with no distractions, and then return to the world where I missed nothing. I would make coffee the old-fashioned, Turkish way and sit in front of the comfortable fireplace in the cottage I rent from Mr. Tumnus. Actually, I would start with a full night of sleep, and then write.

You may say, “But once you go to Narnia, you can never go back.”

Again, you are mistaken. You no longer return when you have finally learned the lesson you needed to learn. Therefore, every day when I finished and left, I would turn to the snowy pines and yell, “I learned nothing!”

3 thoughts on “My Fantasy Writing Studio is in Narnia

  1. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the choose”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my website!I assume its good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

